Orange Cap holders in each edition of IPL Saga

Indian Premier League has the distinctive way of gratifying the top performers of the game. In one of those gratitude rewards, the batsman with the most number of runs will be awarded, Orange Cap. Thanks for the superlative initiative from IPL which created a lot of enthusiasm for fans and also for developing competition between the top class batsmen.

Here in this article, we would like to give you the list of Orange cap holders in all the seasons of IPL starting from its inception in 2008 to the concluded season of 2016.

IPL 2008 – Shaun Marsh (616)

Credits: Cricket Country via AFP

The swashbuckling left-handed Australian, Shaun Marsh is the first Orange cap holder of the IPL cricket. He amassed 616 runs to his name in the inaugural edition by playing for King XI Punjab. He is the only Australian player in the tournament to feature for only one franchise throughout the IPL since inception.

He featured in 11 games in that season and knocked at a splendid average of 68.44. He maintained a strike rate of 139.68 including a century against title winners, Rajasthan Royals and also scored five fifties. He smacked 26 sixes and 59 fours in that special edition.

  • Add Your Comment